NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG moves towards North Yorkshire merger

North Yorkshire’s three clinical
commissioning groups (CCGs) have agreed to merge.

The decision was ratified during a meeting in public of the Governing Bodies which represent NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG, NHS Harrogate and Rural District CCG and NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG, meeting as a ‘Committee in Common’.

A detailed formal proposal will be
submitted to NHS England by 30 September and should it be approved, the three
CCGs will begin operating as a single, statutory organisation from 1 April next

NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby CCG
Chair, Dr Charles Parker, said the proposed merger represents “a great
opportunity to improve healthcare for the people of North Yorkshire”.

NHS Harrogate and Rural District Chair, Dr
Alistair Ingram, said: “A single commissioning voice will make it easier to
reduce some of the health inequalities we see across the county and there will
be less duplication and bureaucracy.”

NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG Associate
Chair, Dr Peter Billingsley added: “Importantly, the governance model that will
be introduced will still allow there to be strong local leadership and patient
engagement, ensuring each area of North Yorkshire will continue to have a
strong clinical voice and patients’ views are represented.”

The proposed merger comes on the back of
reviews carried out by each of the three North Yorkshire CCGs last year, with
Amanda Bloor, formerly the Accountable Officer for Harrogate and Rural District
CCG, subsequently appointed the Accountable Officer across the three North
Yorkshire CCGs in December.

A shared executive leadership team is set
to be implemented soon.

proposal to merge has the unanimous backing of the three CCGs’ Council of
Members / Clinical Representatives (made up of local GPs and practice managers)
and the Local Medical Committee.

Read More