NHS North Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) shortlisted for the 2021 HSJ AWARDS

An innovative project rolled out by NHS North Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) to help improve the sleep health of children and young people, has been shortlisted for Mental Health Innovation of the Year at the HSJ Awards 2021, which recognise outstanding contributions to healthcare.

Standing out among tough competition from hundreds of other exemplary applicants, the ‘North Yorkshire Children and Young People’s Sleep Service’ project was selected based on ambition, visionary spirit and the demonstrable positive impact that the project has had on both patient and staff experiences.

Despite the demanding circumstances of the past 18 months, more than 1,000 entries have been received for this year’s HSJ Awards, with 205 organisations, projects and individuals making it to the final shortlist.

The volume and standards of applications has been a true testament to those health and social care staff, who continue to push outstanding work and transformational projects across the sector.

The judging panel was once again made up of a diverse range of highly influential and respected figures within the healthcare community, including Sir Bruce Keogh (Chair, Birmingham Women’s and Children’s FT); Marie Gabriel CBE (Chair, NHS Race and Health Observatory); and former HSJ Trust of the Year winners Ann Marr OBE (Chief Executive, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals Trust) and Richard Mitchell (Chief Executive, Sherwood Forest Hospitals FT).

Following the intense and in-depth judging process, NHS North Yorkshire CCG was shortlisted, ahead of the official awards ceremony to be held later this year (18 November).

The North Yorkshire Children and Young People’s Sleep Service is a project to help children and young people overcome sleeping difficulties. It uses behavioural therapy, sleep clinics and workshops – rather than medication – to improve a child’s sleep health.

The Sleep Charity – an award-winning voluntary organisation based in Doncaster – was initially commissioned to offer services in Whitby, Scarborough and Ryedale. The approach has been so successful, NHS North Yorkshire CCG commissioned The Sleep Charity to provide support to families North Yorkshire-wide. It is also providing professionals’ training to GP practice staff, health visitors and school nurses.

Suzanne Bennett, Head of Children and Young People’s Commissioning and Continuing Care for North Yorkshire, said: “We are so thrilled to have been shortlisted for Mental Health Innovation of the Year. This recognition really does reflect the collaborative efforts and dedication of our colleagues who have worked so hard to successfully deliver The Sleep Charity project.

“Knowing that there was such stiff competition this year really does make this announcement feel like a wonderful achievement for everyone involved and the nomination has been a tremendous boost to staff at NHS North Yorkshire CCG and The Sleep Charity itself.”

HSJ editor Alistair McLellan, said: “On behalf of all my colleagues, I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate NHS North Yorkshire CCG on being nominated in the category of Mental Health Innovation of the Year in this year’s HSJ Awards. The applications we receive always present our panel of judges with a very difficult task as the standard is unfailingly high and the breadth of innovation and passion for patient care is always so inspiring.

“This year, we really have been overwhelmed with the level of entries, particularly when set against the backdrop of the Covid-19 pandemic and the huge challenges faced by our health and social care workforce.

“We are therefore looking forward to welcoming all our finalists to the live ceremony in November and joining us in celebrating their incredible achievements and commitment to excellence.”

The full list of nominees for the HSJ Awards 2021 can be found on https://awards.hsj.co.uk/shortlist-2021.

The selected winners will be announced during the awards ceremony at Evolution, London on 18 November.